DHL
3,7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
South Africa269 reviews

Ratings by category

3,5Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 269 reviews matching the searchSee all 21 771 reviews

It's a productive and experience.

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
We learn a lot, to wards how to work under pressure and work more hours than normal office staff.Gain experience on all department we where not there for one particular job. We are there for any kind of job available so that we can gain experience at all departments.

Pros

Nope we never had such.

Cons

Yes we do long hours e.g 15 hours per day.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 February 2022
Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. The experience of our employees and the constructive and critical reports help us to identify areas of opportunity and to implement needed changes. We are always striving to improve our working conditions. Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. All overtime must be voluntary. We do not tolerate any forms of forced labor. The safety, health, and well-being of our employees are of utmost importance.A great working climate and colleagues who treat each other reasonably contribute to a concordant working day. As a company, we would like to advance this in the best credible way.Greetings to Cape Town!Your DHL Team

N/a

The work conditions at DHL is very good, and they take sefety as they are priority.so the big problem in this company is management and corruption, upto so far if is not about bad managers DHL is a good company to work in. DHL is the company which follows the rules and regulations of workers and country aslo.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 5-star rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy working at DHL. We are one of the world’s largest employers and our employees are our company’s biggest asset. We act as responsible employers based on our core values. That includes protecting human rights, offering reasonable working conditions within the local context, and engaging our diverse employees.Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us.Take care and stay safe. Best wishesYour DHL Team

Great culture and enviroment to work in.

Great culture has developed within the Supply Chain division. Quality leadership and development programs and opportunities. a lot of focus on the staff wellbeing, but also holding people accountable to deliver.

Pros

Being part of this massive Global brand.

Cons

None really, just do what is expected of you.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 March 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 5-star rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy working at DHL. Thank you for your interest in developing your professional skills within the company. We are always willing to provide opportunities for additional training and development to our employees and to extend these to all of our employees within the scope of our capabilities. As a result, we are even more pleased that you have already taken advantage of these opportunities.Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us.Take care and stay safe.Your DHL Team

High demand company

Fast paced and high demand company. No work life balance. Extreme hours with no compensation for extra hours. Little training opportunities. You need to jump in the deep end and make it work.

Pros

Good benefits

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 February 2022
Hello,We are delighted that you took the time to give us this feedback and rate us with 5 stars.We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is a meaningful form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it positively and have used it to your advantage.Work-life balance is a key part of self-care when juggling the responsibilities of your workday, home life, and relationships with your family members and other loved ones. That means good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. As described by you, it is still necessary for improvement.We wish you much success and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and your patience. Warm greetings to Gauteng!Your DHL Team 

Transportation

My job i was dealing with reports for trashipments and x-dock and i enjoyed doing my job 100% and i would like to work for dhl again if i can have that opportunity again.

Pros

Own lunch

Cons

Normal hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 November 2021
Hello,We are so delighted by reading your review and knowing how satisfied you are with your experience with us. It is a signal that we are on track to being an Employer of Choice.Since you miss working for DHL, please check out our career website and the most recent vacancies in your area here: https://careers.dhl.com/global/en. We hope you will find something of interest to you and that you will rejoin us again soon.All the best to you and your loved ones in Johannesburg,Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Productive and fun workplace

Everyday is a learning day at DHL, they offer you a platform to not just gain experience but also further tour knowledge. The management is so great and they are solution driven. No department is more important than the other one,they value every department as an organisation.the hardest part of the job is getting to work with very big customers in the field but the most enjoyable part of the job is the connection between employer and employees,they take good care of their employees at all times

Pros

Company benefits
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 October 2021
Dear colleague,Thanks for taking the time to rate DHL as a 5-stars employer! Indeed, we value learning and development and actively encouraging our employees to grow. For this reason we have countless of courses but also career development plans on our learning platforms. We value the input of our employees highly and this is the reason why we regularly seek for their feedback using regular team meetings, one to ones and annual surveys to collect it. Please note that you are also always welcome to approach your senior management with any constructive criticism or improvement suggestions and we also actively encourage this.We hope that you will remain part of our Big Yellow Family for many more years to come!All the best to you and your colleagues in Gauteng,Your DHL Team

Extremely compact, but productive team.

Met the manager only once, and the process coach had little or no experience in logistics. I had to do all the reports and the day shift supervisor would also assign me some tasks to complete during night shift.

Pros

N/a

Cons

Night shift only (18:00 - 06:00)
Was this review helpful?

Best perfomance & working as a team

I am performing very well supplying the line 100% every single day every morning the supervisor would report to the team talk how did we perform as individual which is encouraging and motivating

Pros

Clean area

Cons

8 hours
Was this review helpful?

High performance and activities for self development

Good company,I truly enjoy my moments working for DHL supply chain but unfortunately the company contract with client have come to end. If I may get another opportunity I definitely grab with both hands. However, I wish the company can agree with their clients to fixed contract or long contract not less than 10 years. Hence some people will sees it as irreliable company when it comes to job security.

Pros

Training and activities

Cons

No job security, too much relocation.
Was this review helpful?

Productive workplace

Healthy, professional and productive workplace. The employer takes good care of its employees and the priority skills advancement hence alot of on-going training. workshops and team buildings took place.

Pros

Employee, of the month, quarter and year

Cons

Long hours and a huge work load, it can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 August 2021
Hello, Thank you for the stellar 5-star review of our company! “Health, professional and productive workplace” – what a great description this is! Also, we sincerely appreciate you mentioning our on-going trainings and career development paths, as we believe it to be an important aspect for each and every one of our employees. Only through continuous learning and growth can we continue to provide both our customers and our colleagues with the best service and a thriving environment. It is indeed true that periodically the workload and hours can increase, especially when dealing with Key Accounts, but this should never be a constant stressor for our employees. It is important for us to achieve a healthy work-life balance for everyone and we are hence committed to improving process and management so that the long hours are as infrequent as possible. Thank you for all the hard work you have done for us! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Very high powered and stressful environment with continuous reports and deadlines to be met.

The company is well structured but overall a very stressful environment to work in with a lot of deadlines to be met for various departments. What's very stressful is looking after multiple sites with little time for a work/life balance.

Pros

Well established organisation

Cons

Stressful deadlines to meet
Was this review helpful?

Productive and fun workplace

It was a pleasure to be working for DHL,as it was fun workplace and productive.I have learned a lot from DHL company under FORD Motor Company as we were supplying parts in Ford plant.

Pros

Transport allowance

Cons

Working hours:Eight hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 May 2021
Hello,Thank you for the kind words! It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your position as a Material Handler in our local branch in Johannesburg. Indeed, we strive to continuously train and develop our employees and we are glad that you think you have learned a lot during your time with us.We wish you all the best in your future projects,Your Employer Branding Team

Productive and challenging

DHL is good company to work for strives for the progress of each and every employee and mantains a safe environmental to protect everyone working for the company

Pros

Free lunches and vouchers

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Productive and Fun work place

Working with DHL was a blessing, they made sure everyone is well taken care of, the floor was friendly only if you doing your job but overall the management was fairly also.The safety culture made the job to be more easier than i thoughtWorking together was the best part of the job

Pros

Free lunches

Cons

Long Hours but fairly paid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 March 2021
Hello, We are delighted to receive your 4-star rating. What we especially like are the comments you share. Your satisfaction as well as the satisfaction of our customers is our priority. We are therefore pleased that you have found our company to be such a positive employer. Fair treatment of each other is one of the basic principles we pursue in our company. We like to read that you felt comfortable in your team. Thank you very much for your good evaluation.We thank you for your time at DHL and wish you all the best for your professional future.Your Employer Branding Team

Fast pace working environment

Its fast pace do to high demand for the products mostly raw and finished materials for the mill to go into production to make finished products for shop's

Pros

No

Cons

No
Was this review helpful?

Very productive and gained more experience during the time i worked for

Teamwork is their culture ,lots of activities ,MUST BE PRODUCTIVE TO MANAGEMENT AND IF THEY FEEL THAT YOU ARE LACKING SOMEWHERE THEY PROVIDE TRAININGS .Team spirit is the most important environment .Conducting toolbox sessions where most of the employees voices their opinions

Pros

activities

Cons

weekends trainings
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

28 January 2021
Hallo, We are very proud to receive comments like yours and 5 star ratings.Our goal is indeed to continue Connecting people, improving lives… and being an Employer of Choice. We are very pleased that you emphasize strong team cohesion and good team spirit. It is very important for us as a company that together, we make our company a Great Place to Work.Also the development and growth of our employees is on top of our list. We place great value in accompany our employees in their personal and job growth. Thank you for making a difference during your time with us. Best wishes for your future and hopefully you will have a similarly good experience with your new employer.Best regards to Rosslyn,Your Employer Branding Team

Favoritism

People are not recognized for there hard work and knowledge. One is given a job if senior management wants one to move higher up in the company. Management overall does not appreciate staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 December 2020
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your time in our company. Of course, it is our duty to ensure our employees are treated equally and that they have access to opportunities in a fair and balanced environment.DHL is a great place to develop and find career opportunities on all levels and the workload and functions are assigned by managers considering performance and availability. We're sorry that you felt you were treated unfairly. In this respect, we would like to encourage all our workers to raise their voice and to contact their direct supervisor. They know their employees' strengths and potential best. In a joint discussion, they can be sure to clarify what opportunities are available for the professional development.We thank your for the efforts you have made during your time at DHL and wish you all the best for your future. Your Employer Branding Team

Production

The warehouse it was fun working place as we worked as a team, the working place was safe and they made sure everyone is wearing there protective clothing the management was friendly only if you doing you job but overall the management was just fairlyThe working place culture made the job to be more easier than i thought The hardest part is when the parts are missing and getting pressure to supply more while you have to clean the floor at same timeWorking together was the best part of the job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 October 2020
Hello,We're glad to receive a good review from your experience as a material handler. We are very happy to see that you mention so many positive aspects of your DHL workplace as the safety of our operations and the team work.We are specially glad that you mention our great company culture. We invest in creating a friendly environment and giving the tools to our leaders to ensure that our workers feel supported!Best wishes for all your future projects and career steps,Your Employer Branding Team

My flagship work experience in life working with a great team

OTIF ,workload , time of month re volumes ,cost awareness Customer satisfaction , employee satisfaction Communication between teams Accurately complete all inbound and outbound workload by end of day Production clearances 7 days per week Pharmaceutical and medical control council compliance Good relations with suppliers local and import & outbound customers Understand export requirements and mid month versus month end volumes for local & international and plan accordingly Ensure good communication & relations with all role players Including DHL and J&J management Ensure consistent daily and weekly communication to all staff Ensure consistent feedback to management teams Ensure communication with customer to create confidence and trust

Pros

Job satisfaction, great management both customer and employer levels

Cons

Month end longer hours but manageable if properly plsnned
Was this review helpful?

Professional company to work for

Global company with international standards. Pleasant work environment. Strong management team working together as a group to ensure customer satisfaction.

Pros

Team players. Competitive salary.

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

How money fixed salary ?

My job work details. Duty time. Working place. Monthly Salary. Festival Bonus. Monthly leave. And other company condition. Wherrhouse supplier. Food supplier.

Pros

I am not understand

Cons

I am not understand
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 21 771 reviews

Ratings by category

3,5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3,5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3,3 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3,3 out of 5 stars for Management
3,5 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee Reviews