DHL
3,7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Pay & Benefits reviews: Courier Driver

Review this company
Job Title
Courier Driver172 reviews
Location
All

Ratings by category

Clear
3,5Work-Life Balance
3,5Pay & Benefits

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 50 reviews matching the searchSee all 21 746 reviews

Good pay at the stations that have unions

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Great place to work if it’s a station with a union. Very fast paced work environment, and can be a lot to take in at the beginning, the station I was at was in union and I was paid in the mid $20 to start. However, if the station isn’t union, you can expect to be paid around $13-$17.

Pros

Good pay, freedom, overtime available, paid holidays

Cons

Fast paced, can be overwhelming at first, communication needs to improve.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 October 2021
Hello,Thank you for your positive review - we genuinely appreciate it!We are grateful that you have given recognition to our compensation. Offering fair remuneration to our employees at all levels is a big priority of ours and the results in this area something we take great pride in!We will take your constructive feedback into consideration and continue promoting improvement ideas that make our workplaces better and keep us an Employer of Choice.Good luck in your future endeavors!All the best,Your DHL Team

Good job

I was a driver where you get paid paid quite good for the job good benefits Driver also gets OT. Some finish earlier than others and some days are long and management side is compensated well and pushed internally
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your 4-star rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy working at DHL and you feel sufficiently valued in our company.Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us.Take care and stay safe. Warm greetings Your DHL Team

Below minimum wage

If you are employed directly by DHL you get paid a decent hourly rate, but if you are unfortunate enough to be working for a subcontractor you will be paid less the minimum wage. I only worked here because I was desperate and that I got made redundant from my last employer.

Pros

Work colleagues are brilliant to work with.

Cons

Very poor wages and no pension plan
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your time working for DHL.We are pleased that your team has a strong sense of unity. A pleasant working environment and colleagues who treat one another fairly contribute to a pleasant working day. We want to spread the word as widely as possible.DHL strives to provide the best working conditions and remuneration to our employees so that they feel valued by us. We follow all applicable local labor laws, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. When any of these or other guidelines or policies are broken, we encourage our employees to contact their senior leaders or local HR teams so that the matter can be investigated.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishesYour DHL Team 

Fun work place

This is a wonderful company to work for. I would recommend it to job seekers. Excellent pay and benefits. Great work environment. Teamwork is a plus all around great job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

16 May 2022
Dear colleague, Your comment makes us feel extremely happy! Your words confirm that we are on the right track. Having fun and becoming a little better every day is exactly what we want to achieve. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the benefits we offer. In our view, this is a great incentive for employee motivation. Happiness spreads and affects the energy of the entire team, and the way a team plays as a whole determines its success. Thank you very much for your nice feedback. Warm greetingsYour DHL Team

Fast passed, yet friendly co-workers and management.

Awesome place to work. Co-workers are willing to help or give advice. Management does not try to over burden you with freight. You do work a lot of hours, but are paid well for those hours delivering.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 April 2022
Hello, You are our promotor of the year! Thank you for your maximum rating of 5 stars and for making us smile from ear to ear. Thank you for giving the management such a positive assessment. We are always striving to improve our management organization and are pleased that our measures are so well received by our employees. It’s great to read that you felt so good working for DHL. It was an honor to have you as a member of the DHL family. This is amazing.Warm greetings!Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Fun Great Benefits

Easy going environment don’t miss pickups and you’ll be great. The medical insurance is top tier. Be prepared to to drive a large box with many blind spots and you’ll be ok. Compensation is great, can’t complain. A good life awaits.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

19 May 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 5-star rating. We are delighted that you have such a good time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage.Thank you very much you are part of this foundation which keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times. Take care and stay safe. Your DHL Team 

Better pay and benefits at other companies

I worked for a contracted company for DHL, but I saw DHL's true colors every day. I saw where DHL was voted one of the best places to work, but that's because the contractors weren't involved in the poll. Management and salesmen have never been couriers, so they have no idea of what the job truly entails. Management is a complete joke. No long term or short term disability. Still required to wear masks long after the pandemic has ended. You are a workhorse and nothing else. Out of date equipment makes doing your job very difficult and managers refuse to update equipment. Pay is about half what the other companies will pay you. Their theory is: "If you don't like it..quit." The one positive? The contracted managers are good to work for...however, they are at the mercy of DHL.

Pros

The contracted companies for DHL are somewhat pleasant

Cons

Long hours, dangerous conditions, no short-term or long-term disability insurance, lowest pay in industry, massive disconnect between DHL management/salespeople and drivers, out of date sub-par equipment, expensive health insurance, unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Dear colleague, We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your review. We have carefully read your detailed feedback. Your feedback allows us to continuously improve, which is why we value it so much. It is great to read that you have a good working relationship with the contracted companies of DHL. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. We continuously strive to optimize our technology and internal processes. Perhaps you would like to tell us more about your experiences and/or suggestions for improvement? We are sorry that you are not satisfied with your time at our company and that the work is stressful. When any of these or other guidelines or policies are broken, we encourage our employees to contact their senior leaders or local HR teams so that the matter can be investigated. Stay safe and let us know how we can help in case you need support. We are here for you Your DHL Team

Terrible place to work

DHL are a terrible company to work for, long days with no appreciation from the management I had to leave because of stress.I am a lot happier now working for Tesco.

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Long hours low pay

Hours long and early starts which involve loads of waiting about to actually load your van. Expect you to be there from 4am and don’t leave until 8am when van could be loaded in an hour. Work hours equate to minimum wage if on day rate. Too many deliveries and collections for the money. I wouldn’t work for them again or recommend to anyone who wants a life outside of work or has kids and actually wants to see them.

Pros

None

Cons

Low pay for long hours
Was this review helpful?

High energy workplace

I actually really liked working here. My boss was awesome. Training was not bad but it Does take getting use to it if you’ve never delivered. They need to offer raises

Pros

Working by myself

Cons

HR doesn’t care about you, your own route
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 May 2021
Hello, Wow! Thanks a lot for your amazing 5-star review! We are always really excited to get such superb feedback – especially from someone that worked as a courier for us! You were the most prominent face of the company.It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have an equally stellar experience with your local HR department. In case of unresolved issues or improvement suggestions, one can always reach out to the senior management then.We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your training and your supervisor. Indeed, it is definitely a job that requires some getting used to, if one has never done it before.  Again, thank you for reviewing us!We truly wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Help us improve!

Is Indeed your favorite place to learn about companies?

Good but bad

The good it's easy work the bad is a lack of management low wages for the line of work no PTO or sick days no paid holidays and no retirement it's not worth it

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

29 January 2021
Dear colleague, Thank you very much for your feedback. The experience of our employees and the constructive and critical reports give us the support we need to identify and implement improvements.After all, the points you specifically criticize - salary conditions and work conditions & benefits - can only be properly evaluated on site and any problems that arise should be solved in a constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and with HR departments. We are fully aware how difficult it can be - especially when the pressure of work is high, conflicts arise or unpleasant decisions have to be made. This requires a high degree of openness and willingness to approach each other, but only with the joint effort of all stakeholders this can be solved. Only doing this we will become better as a company.We wish you good luck and lots of success with your future projects. Your Employer Branding Team

Best Company in MENA

Dhl in Saudi arabia is good and they care all the employee regarding their health everyone have an medical insurance good salary but one thing problem is the supervisory and manager they will not care the courier. They always think their performance but the courier they will push to comeback to take again the delivery even have to much shipment
Was this review helpful?

Productive

Highly stressful job,long hours. 50 to 60 hrs per week! I enjoyed every minute except the LONG days! Get to work by 9:30am sometimes not get to leave till 9:30pm and not get home till 10:30pm.

Pros

Mostly on your own

Cons

Long hours, low pay for courier
Was this review helpful?

Great Company

I worked for DHL for 10 years. Best job I ever had, and I never should have left. Good hours, benefits were great, and I worked with a good crew. True team spirit.

Pros

Good benefits, great insurance, sick leave, and vacation program.

Cons

Could be high pressure sometimes, but nothing most people can't handle.
Was this review helpful?

Horrible

Frieght is always late. You're forced to do 8 to 10 hours worth of work in 5 to 6 hours. Management is a joke. Supervisor is lazy and won't help. No raises no opportunity to advance. Treated like you're disposable cargo vehicle are old and unreliable they truly do not care about you at all.

Pros

Being on the road

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Fun job see alot of new people and places

Pay sucks benefits sucks. Uniforms are scarce. Not many perks other than driving threw awesome scenery. It's not micro managing.you are by yourself that is awesome. Just load up and hit the road.
Was this review helpful?

Worst place ever

Management is disrespectful.curses at employees and h.r.is not helpful at all. The pay is terrible for the amount of work to do. Freight is never on time..then this cut into your hours of getting paid

Pros

Nothing is professional about Dhl

Cons

The hours and the pay
Was this review helpful?

Okay place to work

Okay place to work but can be very demanding & fast paced especially around the holiday periods but Dhl do offer good incentives around work & good work force whilst I was there
Was this review helpful?

dhl on two levels

On one level as self employed for DHL it was very hard work and more stressful to own and run my own vehicles. Very labour intensive work upto 300 parcels. and 14/17 hour long days 6/7 days a week. The rewards were huge, but finding a good level where work did not over power life and health was becoming more important to my life. So on other another level. Working employed for DHL is much more enjoyable. Regular hours, a company vehicle, holiday pay, pension scheme, the ability to move up the chain if required. Having then owned my own business (restaurant) as I am also getting older I have a choice. and I wish to achieve a good work/ life balance with less stress that owning your own business brings. I am not afraid of hard work, but this is more beneficial when someone else carries the burdens with running a business. tax. vat. insurance. holidays. vehicle maintenance. staff. etc.
Was this review helpful?

Lunch policy

Everyday you are deducted a lunch hour from your weekly pay EVEN if you can’t take a 1 hour lunch break while on your route and you can only eat or drink while on your route. They will deduct those OVERTIME hours so you don’t have a decent paycheck at the end of the week a decent

Pros

having my own company vehicle is like my office

Cons

I’m not paid enough for the amount of volume of heavy workload I do everyday
Was this review helpful?

I just need extra money to paid my bills

I just need a extra part time for extra money to help my family plus i need exercise for my future..and i like to take this job cause its good for my health..and im looking the good time for its start 6pm if yous have any shift on that time..please
Was this review helpful?

More reviews from Courier Driver

See all 172 reviews

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 21 746 reviews

Ratings by category

3,5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3,5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3,3 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3,3 out of 5 stars for Management
3,5 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee Reviews
  • Courier Driver
  • Pay & Benefits