Pangea Outsourcing Services
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Pangea Outsourcing Services Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything about working at pangea was great except for one thing, the salary. It was ridiculously low. One would make between R25 and R50 per hour. This worked out to something like R4500 per month because there were deductions for writing corrections one would have accumulated over the month
Pros
Professional set up
Cons
Very low pay
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is archaic. They are too harsh with their employees, warnings for the most little of infringements are common. Not a place to stay long. The Management is really poor, they easily fire people and they are really trigger happy.
Pros
Access to internet
Cons
Poor remuneration.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're desperate for a job, you can jump in. But if you have options, don't even look this way, you'll regret er it. I've nevrr been so underappreciated in a place of work. And there are NO opportunities for growth AT ALL. I could say it all, rude, biased, no clear communication, that's the leading boss
Pros
Other teachers you will meet are great and welcoming, you'll make great reliable friends
Cons
The pay is VERY poor against all the work you do. The WORST.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at Pangea during weekends and took shifts durning the week sometimes when I had time. The management treats that place like a high school, they treat people like students and want to have control on what you eating, who you talking to, it’s ridiculous to say the least. You work lengthy hours for peanuts on top of that you have to work two months before you get your first salary. Enjoyed the actual job of teaching as the students were nice
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Pangea is good to gain work experience. You work long hours with extremely low pay, managers are not professional and well trained. At least you get a free tefl
Pros
Tefl
Cons
Long hours, low pay, lack of support
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with a chance to interact with other professionals from different backgrounds. Working hours are flexible to suit your availability and great employee support.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn how to teach English online to foreign nationals, the problem was when there were technical problems, the teacher got penalized for these while the problem was not his. The salary rate is awfully low, you end up having to do more classes (double shifts) just to keep up with the cost of living. The enjoyable part was meeting new students online and being able to help them with their English conversation.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pangea offers great opportunities to people who are looking for entry positions or graduates who want to gain work experience. My favourite part of the job was meeting new people from across the world. You get to meet with the quality assurance department who tells you what you are doing right and what you need to improve on, which means you get an opportunity to work on your weak points.
Pros
Set your own working hours, Gain Working experience, Fun/helpful Colleagues
Cons
No advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is impossible to sustain yourself with the pay they gove you, they always make a lot of deductions at that. The employees are cool and friendly, but thats about it.
Pros
None
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
25 June 2019
Hi,Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are glad the office culture is fun and friendly since life can be gloomy sometimes.The corporate world is looking for experienced employees. At Pangea, we give fresh graduates an opportunity to gain the necessary skills to "survive" in the corporate world.Regards,Pangea Team
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Pangea Outsourcing Services?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been working at Pangea on weekends full time and pick up shifts when available during the week.My scored are above 4.85 most of the time.Pangea has an incentive system to pay $50 to all teachers with an avaerage of 4.85 provided they teach a cerain number of hrs and they dont have any issues like complains, Teacher Lates and TSPs. I find it disturbing that I never got that award and I put my all in what I do. I know its sounds petty but its happening to many as well. Whats more strange is you see certain teachers whose names are always on the winners list but they scores might even be lower or equal to yours without any teacher lates or even other funny excuses they give for not rewarding you. With a ridiculous pay structure I think the least they can do is to be fair interms of they incentive system
Pros
Opportunity to get a job easily due to high turnover🤷🏻‍♀️
Cons
I can spend the whole day typing but its a pathetic company
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
3 May 2019
Hi,Thank you for the feedback. Well done on achieving high scores. Keep up the great work.You are referring to the Top Performer award system that rewards the Top 20 high scoring teachers every month. Having an average score above 4.85 is but one of the criteria, you also need to have no penalties incurred in the month and have a clean disciplinary record. If you did not get a reward, then you did not meet all of the criteria.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work hours are flexible and you are able to give away a shift when you want to rest. The salary is however not satisfying. The management is quite strict and time keeping is very important.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
11 March 2019
Hi,Thank you for the valuable feedback. We need to ensure that classes are always taught on time. Therefore the managers are strict with regards to timekeeping.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pangea is a great place to get experience for fresh graduates and as a part-time job for those wishing to earn an extra income. The hours and salary structure has been designed in that way, they have no problem being a stepping stone, however the hourly rate could be increased as the workload is extensive and requires skill.
Pros
TEFL course
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
25 October 2018
HiThank you for your review, we really appreciate it. At Pangea, we understand the challenges that graduates face when securing their first job. The corporate world is looking for experienced employees. However, at Pangea, we offer the opportunity to gain experience so that you become attractive to future employees.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most employees not treated with the respect a working adult usually gets.No apparent labour relations.Salary is way too little.Rude extremely unprofessional management staff.Great friendly students being the only plus of the job as well as meeting fellow friendly teachers.High turn over of teaching staff due too poor salary;no benefits and rude management.
Pros
None.
Cons
Management and a very restricting contract.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
30 July 2018
Good day,Thank you for taking time to share your review, we really appreciate your invaluable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not treated with respect. I can assure you that this is not the working environment we want for our employees. Be assured that this will be addressed with the rest of the team.Pangea tries to ensure that the working environment is positive through constant feedback from our teachers. The centre coach acts as the conduit between the teachers and management and this provides a platform for teachers to air out their concerns. Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good foot in the door to start my career in online teaching. Invaluable. Alas, prospects and remuneration were poor, with long hours, no benefits. Management were unfriendly and unhelpful. Often under or short paid for time and hours worked. Expect to work much overtime. Pay extremely low and neither market related..
Pros
A foot in the door. Good start will gain valuable experience.
Cons
long, unrewareded hours.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
30 July 2018
Good day,I am glad that Pangea gave you a headstart in the teaching industry since you gained relevant teaching experience.The salary is ideal for starting out in the marketplace and we recruit internally should there be open positions in other departments.The hours are shift based and flexible therefore one is able to select shifts that suits their lifestyle and economic needs.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is really low, and they make sure your score is low. They dont value employees, people don't stay. They always make mistakes when its comes to paying teachers. You need to always check your payslip keep record every month. They send about 3 or even more payslips before they pay you. Its just stressful.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
30 July 2018
Good day,Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We understand your frustration regarding the payslips. However, we only send out two payslips, one preliminary and a final one. We do this to make sure that your pay, which is based on the number of classes you taught and the scores you achieved, is accurate. We have introduced a new payroll system recently that has essentially eliminated queries.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I generally enjoy working there but they need to up their rates, the salary is just too low. People are leaving going to greener pastures and I am sure management has noticed that too. So I think they need to do something about that because the only reason most people are leaving is because of the non advancements as well as the little salary one gets.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Salary/Rates
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputation of key leaders Admiration of products/services Admiration of other company initiatives (marketing campaign, community involvement, training programs) Company awards Company management philosophy Company values Company positioning in market Company growth/success
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is full or people who are still trying to find themselves and as a result most of the people are not every experienced in life and working. The nice thing about the place is that you are in control of the money that you make even though the remuneration is still very little for the amount of work that you have to do there. The most enjoyable part about the company is the fact that there are so many people that you get the opportunity to work with and the worst thing aboiut the job is the fact that the work is sometimes a little too much for the amount you get paid.
Pros
meeting people and work expreience
Cons
Work to pay ratio
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun job. Teaching online English to foreigners. However the company has made sure it is difficult to earn money. With a minimum pay so low it would lead to poverty and a maximum that barely scratches basic needs.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay and oppressive management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services
30 July 2018
Good day,I am glad that you enjoyed working at Pangea and that you had a lot of fun.To earn more money, you can pick extra classes and ensure that you achieve high ratings. The in-centre trainer and centre coach are there to give you the support and pointers on how to be a 5 star teacher.Regards,Pangea Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at pangea it was such a nice environment and i really enjoyed teaching, my students would make me so happy and everyone was always happy and the managers were always nice. it was just a happy place where i got to teach my students new things while at the same time I was also gaining some knowledge.
Pros
short hours, wonderful students, awesome colleagues
Cons
little compensation, awkward hours
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management pushed long hours for little to no remuneration. As it was based on overseas callers the review system was often disputed as the non-native English speakers often reversed the system and as such the teachers received low reviews which affected the pay.
Pros
relaxed envorinment
Cons
long hours, low pay, no lunch
Was this review helpful?