Pangea Outsourcing Services
2,5 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Pangea Outsourcing Services Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
South Africa35 reviews

Ratings by category

2,8Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 35 reviews

Good for starting-up students

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
The company culture was amazing, and the staff was very helpful. Of course, because they are open to entry level students, the pay is low, but that is understandable. The only thing that sucks, is that you won't be able to sustain yourself at this company for too long, as the cost of living is too high. Great company though, and I recommend it to anyone who is starting out in the teaching industry.
Was this review helpful?

This should be your last resort

The salary isn't great but you can pick up extra shifts if you lucky enough to get any. There is a work life balance because you can give away your shifts and avail yourself to pick up shifts if you have time and that is the only real advantage.As for the management, they are condescending. They treat teachers like nobodies, they create a toxic work environment. I only lasted as long as I did because my options were very limited.

Pros

Flexible hours

Cons

Low salary, toxic work environment, bad management, very little to no room for growth
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

16 November 2021
Hi,Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts and experiences.We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience, your review however has provided us with some insight as to how we can improve and strengthen our management. With regards to our rates and salary structure it's always discussed beforehand, we also offer flexible hours which allows you to determine your own salary by picking up extra shifts. It also follows all BCEA conditions. Regards,Pangea Team

Genuinely The Most Horrible Company

I can't even begin to explain how horrible it was working there. You have no sense of belonging at all, the working hours are too long for small pay. You get paid according to who you taught, which type of shift you worked and according to ratings from sometimes really unfair students. If a student doesn't show up for the lessons, you don't automatically get paid the amount of that lesson, you have to do so many essay corrections and if you don't, you don't get paid. There's no basic salary (red flag). There's a month I once got around R900. Very expoilative company!!!

Pros

You get experience in the field

Cons

Exploitative!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts. We serve as a stepping stone for graduates who are entering the working realm and thus offer an entry level salary. Our rates and salary structure is always discussed beforehand and you are paid per lesson, we also offer flexible hours which allows you determine your own salary by picking up extra shifts.In the instance of lessons being cancelled, you are required to provide a supplementary service as we would still like to remunerate you for your time. Regards, Pangea Team

Exploitative

This is the worst company you could work for. The salary is not enough to sustain yourself. You can work for accommodation costs for the whole month. The teachers are over-worked. You can work for six hours straight without a break. In addition, you are required to correct 8 essays when the student cancels the lesson. If you do not they deduct the value of the lesson x 2 from your salary. Take note this will be for your highest paying day. So if you do not correct essays for Monday, which does not pay well, they will deduct the money from your shift on Sunday which pays well. X 2. You get paid in accordance with student ratings and many times you get unreasonable students. They tell you they will adjust ratings to remove unfair ratings, but they never will. They will tell you it is the responsibility of EF. They use EF to justify every oppressive rule in the system.The management is just unreasonable.

Pros

You get a TEFL certificate for free

Cons

Management, payment system, working hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

6 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us but your review has provided us with insight as to how we can improve.Our payment structure is set and discussed thoroughly with all applicants before joining our team, it also follows all BCEA conditions. We are the ideal company to gain skills and experience in the online teaching realm. While working a single shift may not be feasible, many teachers are able to sustain themselves by working extra shifts, all of which have at least a 10 minute break in between each lesson. Regards, Pangea Team

Somewhere to start, not to stay long

Management is archaic. They are too harsh with their employees, warnings for the most little of infringements are common. Not a place to stay long. The Management is really poor, they easily fire people and they are really trigger happy.

Pros

Access to internet

Cons

Poor remuneration.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

6 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts and experiences. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience, your review however has provided us with some insight as to how we can improve and strengthen our management. We would also like to mention that we systematically follow BCEA disciplinary codes to ensure a fair working environment for all. Regards, Pangea Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

If it's your first teaching experience, you can give them a try

If you're desperate for a job, you can jump in. But if you have options, don't even look this way, you'll regret er it. I've nevrr been so underappreciated in a place of work. And there are NO opportunities for growth AT ALL. I could say it all, rude, biased, no clear communication, that's the leading boss

Pros

Other teachers you will meet are great and welcoming, you'll make great reliable friends

Cons

The pay is VERY poor against all the work you do. The WORST.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts. We serve as a stepping stone for graduates who are entering the working realm and thus offer an entry level salary. Pangea has a "level 6" program which allows for the advancement of teachers, this allows teachers to gain invaluable skills as well as financial growth. Regards, Pangea Team

Professional set up but low pay

Everything about working at pangea was great except for one thing, the salary. It was ridiculously low. One would make between R25 and R50 per hour. This worked out to something like R4500 per month because there were deductions for writing corrections one would have accumulated over the month

Pros

Professional set up

Cons

Very low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts. We serve as a stepping stone for graduates who are entering the working realm and therefore offer an entry level salary. Our rates and salary structure is always discussed beforehand, we also offer flexible hours which allows you determine your own salary by picking up extra shifts.If writing corrections are completed in place of classes not taught, you will always receive your full salary without any penalties. Regards, Pangea Team

Poor pay, poor management

I worked at Pangea during weekends and took shifts durning the week sometimes when I had time. The management treats that place like a high school, they treat people like students and want to have control on what you eating, who you talking to, it’s ridiculous to say the least. You work lengthy hours for peanuts on top of that you have to work two months before you get your first salary. Enjoyed the actual job of teaching as the students were nice
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

6 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Pangea, your review has provided us with some insight as to how we can improve and strengthen our management.Unfortunately, because of the nature of the job, eating at your work station and the use of social media on our computers are strictly prohibited. All our staff are paid a month in arrears, therefore depending on your start date you may work for up to 2 months before receiving a full salary. We ensure to communicate our payments to all applicants before they start. Regards, Pangea Team

Poor management and stressful

Working at Pangea is good to gain work experience. You work long hours with extremely low pay, managers are not professional and well trained. At least you get a free tefl

Pros

Tefl

Cons

Long hours, low pay, lack of support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts and experiences. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience, your review however has provided us with some insight as to how we can improve and strengthen our management.Receiving a TEFL qualification is one of our perks, along with working from the comfort of your own home. Our team will continue to strive to provide virtual support at all times. Regards, Pangea Team

Open environment

Great experience with a chance to interact with other professionals from different backgrounds. Working hours are flexible to suit your availability and great employee support.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts and experiences and for being a part of the Pangea team. We wish you all the best with your future endeavors. Regards, Pangea Team

Great colleagues and clients

Good to learn how to teach English online to foreign nationals, the problem was when there were technical problems, the teacher got penalized for these while the problem was not his. The salary rate is awfully low, you end up having to do more classes (double shifts) just to keep up with the cost of living. The enjoyable part was meeting new students online and being able to help them with their English conversation.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Pangea, your review has provided us with some insight as to how we can improve and strengthen. Unfortunately, technical challenges are a common occurrence with all online teaching, we will however, never penalize anyone that follows policies and procedures to avoid and report such problems.Regards, Pangea Team

Great Working Hours

Pangea offers great opportunities to people who are looking for entry positions or graduates who want to gain work experience. My favourite part of the job was meeting new people from across the world. You get to meet with the quality assurance department who tells you what you are doing right and what you need to improve on, which means you get an opportunity to work on your weak points.

Pros

Set your own working hours, Gain Working experience, Fun/helpful Colleagues

Cons

No advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

7 May 2021
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Pangea. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that the skills and experience you have gained is assisting you in the current competitive job market. Regards, Pangea Team

The pay does not match the amount of work.

It is impossible to sustain yourself with the pay they gove you, they always make a lot of deductions at that. The employees are cool and friendly, but thats about it.

Pros

None

Cons

The pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

25 June 2019
Hi,Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are glad the office culture is fun and friendly since life can be gloomy sometimes.The corporate world is looking for experienced employees. At Pangea, we give fresh graduates an opportunity to gain the necessary skills to "survive" in the corporate world.Regards,Pangea Team

Unfair incentives

I have been working at Pangea on weekends full time and pick up shifts when available during the week.My scored are above 4.85 most of the time.Pangea has an incentive system to pay $50 to all teachers with an avaerage of 4.85 provided they teach a cerain number of hrs and they dont have any issues like complains, Teacher Lates and TSPs. I find it disturbing that I never got that award and I put my all in what I do. I know its sounds petty but its happening to many as well. Whats more strange is you see certain teachers whose names are always on the winners list but they scores might even be lower or equal to yours without any teacher lates or even other funny excuses they give for not rewarding you. With a ridiculous pay structure I think the least they can do is to be fair interms of they incentive system

Pros

Opportunity to get a job easily due to high turnover🤷🏻‍♀️

Cons

I can spend the whole day typing but its a pathetic company
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

3 May 2019
Hi,Thank you for the feedback. Well done on achieving high scores. Keep up the great work.You are referring to the Top Performer award system that rewards the Top 20 high scoring teachers every month. Having an average score above 4.85 is but one of the criteria, you also need to have no penalties incurred in the month and have a clean disciplinary record. If you did not get a reward, then you did not meet all of the criteria.Regards,Pangea Team

Flexible work environment

The work hours are flexible and you are able to give away a shift when you want to rest. The salary is however not satisfying. The management is quite strict and time keeping is very important.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

11 March 2019
Hi,Thank you for the valuable feedback. We need to ensure that classes are always taught on time. Therefore the managers are strict with regards to timekeeping.Regards,Pangea Team

Hectic work hours for basic salary

Pangea is a great place to get experience for fresh graduates and as a part-time job for those wishing to earn an extra income. The hours and salary structure has been designed in that way, they have no problem being a stepping stone, however the hourly rate could be increased as the workload is extensive and requires skill.

Pros

TEFL course

Cons

Salary
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

25 October 2018
HiThank you for your review, we really appreciate it. At Pangea, we understand the challenges that graduates face when securing their first job. The corporate world is looking for experienced employees. However, at Pangea, we offer the opportunity to gain experience so that you become attractive to future employees.Regards,Pangea Team

Rude and oppresive management with very little pay and long hours plus many deductions..

Most employees not treated with the respect a working adult usually gets.No apparent labour relations.Salary is way too little.Rude extremely unprofessional management staff.Great friendly students being the only plus of the job as well as meeting fellow friendly teachers.High turn over of teaching staff due too poor salary;no benefits and rude management.

Pros

None.

Cons

Management and a very restricting contract.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

30 July 2018
Good day,Thank you for taking time to share your review, we really appreciate your invaluable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not treated with respect. I can assure you that this is not the working environment we want for our employees. Be assured that this will be addressed with the rest of the team.Pangea tries to ensure that the working environment is positive through constant feedback from our teachers. The centre coach acts as the conduit between the teachers and management and this provides a platform for teachers to air out their concerns. Regards,Pangea Team

Foot in the door

It was a good foot in the door to start my career in online teaching. Invaluable. Alas, prospects and remuneration were poor, with long hours, no benefits. Management were unfriendly and unhelpful. Often under or short paid for time and hours worked. Expect to work much overtime. Pay extremely low and neither market related..

Pros

A foot in the door. Good start will gain valuable experience.

Cons

long, unrewareded hours.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

30 July 2018
Good day,I am glad that Pangea gave you a headstart in the teaching industry since you gained relevant teaching experience.The salary is ideal for starting out in the marketplace and we recruit internally should there be open positions in other departments.The hours are shift based and flexible therefore one is able to select shifts that suits their lifestyle and economic needs.Regards,Pangea Team

I would say if your not smart its where dreams go to die

Pay is really low, and they make sure your score is low. They dont value employees, people don't stay. They always make mistakes when its comes to paying teachers. You need to always check your payslip keep record every month. They send about 3 or even more payslips before they pay you. Its just stressful.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pangea Outsourcing Services

30 July 2018
Good day,Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We understand your frustration regarding the payslips. However, we only send out two payslips, one preliminary and a final one. We do this to make sure that your pay, which is based on the number of classes you taught and the scores you achieved, is accurate. We have introduced a new payroll system recently that has essentially eliminated queries.Regards,Pangea Team

Flexible work hours but the salary is too low.

I generally enjoy working there but they need to up their rates, the salary is just too low. People are leaving going to greener pastures and I am sure management has noticed that too. So I think they need to do something about that because the only reason most people are leaving is because of the non advancements as well as the little salary one gets.

Pros

N/a

Cons

Salary/Rates
Was this review helpful?

Great place

Reputation of key leaders Admiration of products/services Admiration of other company initiatives (marketing campaign, community involvement, training programs) Company awards Company management philosophy Company values Company positioning in market Company growth/success
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pangea Outsourcing Services. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 35 reviews

Ratings by category

2,8 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
1,7 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2,0 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
2,4 out of 5 stars for Management
2,6 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • Pangea Outsourcing Services
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?